Basically a blog full of rubbish, sorry.

Hi there,

I didn’t realise its been nearly a month since my last blog post until today so I thought I better write one now.

Let’s start with 2 weeks ago… I went home for a long weekend for my 21st and it was one of the best weekends of my life! Firstly I was pampered all of Saturday day time (including new hair thanks to the wonderful Ellie!). That night I got ready for what I thought was a quiet night of a few drinks and catch up with some friend, how wrong I was! I got the shock of my life when I arrived at the bar to see all my family and all my dearest friends waiting for me! Everyone who was there I love so much (minus my niece and nephew of course) and even now I have a stupid smile on my face thinking of the night. I think everyone there knew me well enough to expect tears which I did manage to hold off until I saw Emaline. The sneaky bugger had lied and said she couldn’t come down from Newcastle to see. She is one of the best friends I will ever find in life so seeing her there as well as everyone else pushed me over the edge and the tears came pretty quickly. I want to thank everyone once again because that really was an amazing night and an unforgettable memory.

The next day, of course, everyone was nicely hungover. It was remembrance day though so my mum, Anna, Jack, Andrew and I walked down to the war memorial for 11am to watch the service. After this I made a super quick stop off to say hello to Andrew’s parents which was nice but very rushed, I’ll have to make some more time for them over Christmas! And I finished the day by finally being reunited with my beautiful niece and nephew and having a very needed dinner and lazy night.

Monday was yet another amazing day. I had planned a trip to the zoo with Andrew but what I didn’t know is I have another sneaky bugger in my life as he had also planned a surprise, I got to meet the animals! We spent half an hour inside the rainforest exhibit which was full of very very cute Tamarin monkeys, armadillos, turtles, sloths and a cheeky Tamadua who kept trying to climb up our legs. The best part was that we actually got to feed the monkeys, we had to grab handfuls of live mill worms (yuck) and held our arms out to the monkeys who were coming extremely close to our faces and staring at us as they grabbed their lunch out of our hands. I love animals and the zoo and so this was another memory that I’ll cherish forever, thank you Andrew!

My actual birthday was Tuesday which was spent shopping and having lunch with my mum, seeing the kids again and then a lazy night and takeaway with some of my family. I got the greatest presents from everyone, I was well and truly spoiled! It was my favourite birthday to date though.

Wednesday, I came back to reality and from then until now have not been doing much other than attempting to get all my assignments done before Christmas. I did miss Spain whilst I was home, I missed being able to see the beautiful mountains in whatever direction you look. And of course I missed the mild weather- 20’C for the last week in November really isn’t too bad!

Slowly my work is coming together, hopefully I’ll have done enough to be able to relax soon and enjoy myself a bit more! But for now, a few trips out here and there will suffice until my work is done. I finally bought myself a duvet this week as night time is getting a bit cold, this was a bad decision though because it makes it even harder to leave my bed in the mornings.

Despite my worries, Spain is getting quite christmassy! There are decorations in my local mercadona which very tacky and cheap, I love them. I also went to the shopping centre this week which is also covered in decorations. This makes me very happy, as I was worried Spain would not be big on decorations, they might not be the extreme London style but they’re there nonetheless!

I think I’ll leave it here as I do seem to have rambled quite a bit, mainly about my birthday which I can’t help but talk about because it was the best weekend ever. There is only 24 days left of this term which is extremely scary because when I return after Christmas I will be half way through my year abroad! I can already tell I am going to miss Alicante a lot when this is over. Basically, when I’m here I miss home and when I’m home I miss here, I can’t win! So for now I get the best of both worlds by traveling between the two as I please.

I’ll try not to leave it so long until the next blog. But to be honest it’ll probably be even longer because I keep forgetting about this!

Hasta luego!

xxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a comment